Hippy Mama

Nov_11-01Nov_12There’s been a bit of a hippy vibe going on at our house lately (minus the flowing armpit hair that is). Ever since these pregnancy hormones have upped the ante on my blood hound sense of smell, any kind of synthetic perfume/scent has felt too intense, bringing on headaches and nausea. This reaction made me start to question what synthetic chemicals in beauty products or cleaning supplies can do to our bodies. Surely they can’t be great if just the smell alone was making me feel sick right? So I was thinking, if I’m super careful about what I put INTO my body e.g. no cold cuts, alcohol, caffeine…etc, then shouldn’t I be conscious of what I’m putting ON my body? Our skin is our largest organ, it absorbs whatever the heck we smear or lather onto it and that makes me fear that some of those chemicals that get absorbed into my body could be harmful to my baby. Maybe I’m being a tad over dramatic but it has startled me enough to make some natural product choices when it comes to the beauty and cleaning supplies we use at home.

My midwife gave me a handful of Doterra essential oil samples and I mentioned in my last pregnancy update that I believe the blended oils truly work for mood enhancement. I’ve been using the single oils quite a lot as well, for cleaning, adding to drinks, and massages – to mention a few uses. I’m discovering so many handy ways to utilize them, so I went ahead and bought bigger bottles of lavender, lemon and peppermint (as seen in the first picture). I’m on such a hype with these oils! I can’t wait to share the ways I’ve been using them and what I plan to do with them too!

Another natural product I’ve been crazy about is coconut oil. It’s great for your body, inside and out! I’ve been substituting it for butter in baking, using it to moisturize this big ol’ preggo bump, and using it as makeup remover! I have a lot to say about this amazing stuff and so I really need to dedicate a future post to it as well.

Stay tuned for future posts on Lavender, Lemon, Peppermint and Coconut oil! 🙂

Leave a Reply

