Nursery Project – Part I

Nov_02 title-01

Nov_03

Nov_04

While Danny and I were dating, he wrote a little love story for me about two squirrels who make their way back to each other, amidst a bundle of challenging obstacles. I had been keeping an eye out for nursery mobiles and since none of them felt quite right, I decided to craft my own, featuring the characters from the “Tale of Two Squirrels”, with the intention of sharing the story with our little one at bed time.

This was my first time using felt and attempting embroidery, but I think the mobile turned out nicely, maybe a bit lop-sided on the stringing together part. I used this pattern from Nuno Runo (people who share free patterns online are awesome) for the squirrels and as you can probably tell, I made up my own pattern for the awkward looking tree and deformed acorns!

For those of you who are interested, you can read on for
this weeks pregnancy update…

How far along?
25 weeks. That means only 3 and a half short months to go!
Total weight gain?
I can’t remember what I weighed at last weeks midwife appointment but I recall I had gained A LOT since my last weigh in.
Maternity clothes?
Bought some longer tops that I’ve been layering with cardigans and leggings are my new best friend!
Stretch marks?
None, yippee!
Sleep?
I’ve been sleeping with a pillow wedged under my belly which has alleviated the pressure on my rib cage which means, happy ribs in the morning!
Best moment this week?
Sitting on the rug in the nursery with Danny, talking for hours about kids and being parents. I feel so lucky to be his wife and unbelievably blessed to be doing this with my best friend.
Worst moment this week?
No emo days this week.
Movement?
I’ve been feeling kicks higher up in my rib cage. Baby is getting bigger!
Food cravings?
I had a craving for rice crispies, so whipped some up for desert. Baby was kicking all night, so probably not a good idea to have that much sugar :s
Anything making you feel sick or queezy?
Still anything that I ate during my first trimester – omelettes!
Gender?
Still waiting for the surprise. We’ve chosen names if we have a girl or a boy.
Belly button in or out? 
Still on the verge of being an outie.
Happy or moody?
I’ve been really content and happy and I don’t know if it’s due to the fact that I’ve been using these dōTERRA essential oils or whether it’s all in my mind? I went to a dōTERRA class and was given a maternity essential oils gift pack which included single bottles of lavender, peppermint, and lemon oil, and bottles of their specialty blends. I’ve been using a blend called “Solace”, which helps to ease cramps, nausea, hot flashes and emotional swings caused by an imbalance of  hormones in women and one called “Citrus Bliss” which is a motivator and improves your mood. I swear that my sense of happiness and peace has improved since I’ve been using these that it’s almost like they’re too good to be true! Whether they work or not, they smell REALLY good!
Looking forward to?
Adding more things to the nursery 🙂
2 thoughts on “Nursery Project – Part I

  1. Love that you guys spend time talking about precious things with no other distractions eg tv, computer close by etc. These are moments in life that people tend to have less off these days with everyone being so busy all the the and technology all around us to keep us from doing so (very sad). If only people would just slow down every once in a while and appreciate the simple things in life.

    You’re still put off by omelette? Funny as this was the one thing that put me off during my pregnancy and I had only ever felt sick like that twice during my journey (both times with egg). I have never heard of anyone else being put off by egg… It’s always other types of food. Like sister, like sister 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

