Homemade Pizza Night

CO_May_28_title

I need to share with you, the pizza crust recipe my grandmother-in law passed down to us.
It’s delicately CRISP on the outside and gives you that SOFT/ SPRINGY bite you want from a good dough.

Instead of going to the movies and a restaurant, we decided to stay home, take our time to make our own pizzas together and watch that scary movie, ‘Mama’, on TV. Our pizzas turned out fantastically! But, I’m embarrassed to show you the photos I took, because the lighting in our dining room tends to tinge photos a horror-show red. I don’t want to scare you away from trying this recipe with bad pictures! And I assure you the movie was the scary part of our evening, not these DELICIOUS pizzas!!

Here is the recipe below if you’re interested.

1 pkg. active dry yeast
1 1/4 c. warm water (110° to 115°)
3 1/2 – 4 c. sifted all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp. salt
 1 Tbsp. honey
(makes 2 pizzas)

• Sprinkle yeast on warm water; stir to dissolve. Add 2 c. flour, salt, and honey. Beat thoroughly. Stir in remaining flour. Turn onto slightly floured board and knead until smooth and elastic, about 10 minutes.
• Place in lightly greased bowl; turn dough over to grease top. Cover and let rise in warm place until doubled, about 30 minutes.
• Turn onto board and knead just long enough to force out large bubbles. Divide in half. Roll each half to make an 11″ circle. Stretch each circle to fit an oiled 12″ pizza pan. Top with filling of your choice.
• Bake in very hot oven (450°) 20 -25 minutes. Exchange position of pans on oven racks once during baking to brown pizzas the same.

We made one of our pizzas with ham and pineapple, and topped it with fresh tomato slices. And the other with pepperoni, black olives and red bell peppers. Both were devoured that night.

I know it can be difficult to find the time to make things from scratch these days but trust me, this pizza crust is really worth it!

6 thoughts on “Homemade Pizza Night

  1. I am so fortunate to have a father in law born in Italy! He makes bread in his outdoor oven and mails it to our boys. We have pizza night once a week here. Sun dried tomatoes make a splendid topping! I’m going to try your recipe tomorrow night:)

    • My only recommendation is, do not wait until you’re really hungry to start making your pizza. Things seem to take FOREVER when you’re hungry (in my opinion). Unless you plan on snacking on cheese and pepperoni while you’re at it, then it’s all good! 😀

      • I’ve learned that the hard way with most everything I have made! I definitely need to start most food I make way earlier than I think I do.

Leave a Reply

