Early Bird

seagull on a lamp post

I woke up early this morning and I couldn’t ignore the morning light beckoning me outside. I was in dire need of a good, long, mind-clearing walk. Long distance walking used to be a daily activity (more of a necessity) when we lived in the city. I used to walk everywhere. I’d walk to work, the supermarket, friend’s places, just everywhere! But since I’ve been back in the suburbs I can only count the number of times I’ve gone for a decent long walk on one hand! It’s inexcusable but the fact that I work from home makes it dangerously easy for me to fall into the bad habit of jumping straight onto the computer to check my emails and start work as soon as I wake up. That means skipping breakfast and maybe staying in my pj’s past the appropriate hour.

ducks in a row

So, I needed this long walk to put things in perspective. I needed to put my ducks in a row, so to speak. My priorities have been out of order lately and I could really feel it taking a toll on my body and mind. Augusten Burroughs was right when he said, “when you have your health, you have everything. When you do not have your health, nothing else matters at all”.

walking in my shoes
I put my favorite walking shoes on and wandered the neighborhood (with my camera around my neck for good measure). It felt good to let my legs do what they were made for. It felt good to fill my lungs with fresh morning air. I felt hopeful for the day ahead.

pukekos
I could smell burnt toast and coffee in the air as I made my way through the streets.  I tried my best not to interrupt this family of Pukeko’s having their breakfast, though they made off in a hurry when I quickly snapped their picture.
horse silhoutte
The sun was just about to rise over this hill as the horses made their way across the paddock. Everything felt slow and peaceful.duck silhoutteI heard a lone duck fly overhead. I don’t have much to say about this picture. I just like it.

bird or planeI saw this plane and it reminded me that my husband will be flying back home in soon and I smiled.

pondThis walk was such an eye opener for me to reflect on how I’ve been living. I’m glad I’ve admitted to myself that I’ve been in a rut and today I looked up and started pulling myself out. I’ll be putting my walking shoes back on tomorrow. That’s for sure.

Leave a Reply

