Spring Cleaning

1: Braggs Apple Cider Vinegar. 2: Organic Lemons. 3: 100% Cotton Pillow cases.
Pictured pillow cases are from Castle and Anthropologie.

I am so excited that spring is just around the corner! Good riddance to what felt like the longest winter! The days have been sunnier and bunches of little flowers have been sprouting up all over our bloomin’ garden! The sunny skies have got me into a vigorous cleaning mood lately and I haven’t just been scrubbing down the house, I’ve also been cleansing my body!

The lack of excercise and gorging on comfort foods all winter has not been healthy and my skin sure has punished me for my bad behaviour! I had heard through the grape vine of this acne vanishing potion called ‘apple cider vinegar’. So I purchased a bottle of Braggs Apple Cider Vinegar with “The Mother” (a sediment that contains all sorts of good bacteria) in the hope to get rid of my dreaded spots! I’ve been drinking 2 tablespoons of this stuff, mixed with honey in a glass of water every morning. I was told that the taste is fowl and face contorting but I don’t think it’s that bad at all! I gotta tell ya, this stuff is amazing! My skin has improved heaps in the last week of taking this magic liquid. I bought the vinegar just to help my skin but in return it’s helped me feel good all over, inside and out! I don’t feel bloated anymore and the cravings to snack all the time have subsided. I feel balanced and healthy. Everyone should be taking this stuff, seriously, go get some now!

Second on the cleansing list is lemon juice. I love these little yellow guys. So good in drinks, salads, and your face! Yup, lemon juice straight on your face does wonders for your skin! The acidity of the juice is a great natural cleaner, killing bacteria and breaking down excess oil. It helps to fade acne scars and hyper-pigmentation too! Which is a plus for me! What I’ve been doing is splashing my face with warm water and then dipping a cotton pad into lemon juice and wiping the pad all over my face like how you’d normally apply toner. I then rinse off the juice and my skin feels clean, polished and zesty! I keep an air tight container of juice squeezed from one small organic lemon in the fridge and take it out when I need it each evening for my face washing routine.

Lastly, something that my mother taught me is to wash my pillow cases once a week. I live in the city and pretty much walk everywhere. You forget that your hair is like a casting net for pollution in the air. If you don’t wash your hair everyday, you’re bringing all those yuckies into bed with you and onto your dear pillow! So washing your pillow cases is important to keep your skin clean. Now didn’t that sound like a 1950’s health notice?

I hope these cleansing tips will help you too.
What are some of your cleansing tips or secrets?

Stephy

Leave a Reply

